Posted by: Cacille | April 7, 2012

Food Finding part 3

Yesterday, I decided to cook me some spaghetti, since I had picked up spaghetti noodles and what looked like meat sauce at one of the local marts. To my surprise, I also found something I never expected to be in Korea: Parmesan cheese! Sure, it’s the bottled dried kind, but that’s all right with me.

Spaghetti noodles are very common, although not very diverse in types.  Spaghetti sauce is also a common find, and even comes in a small variety – regular tomato, garlic, and meat sauce. Gimme the meat sauce any day- I’d rather have the taste of meat than of tomato paste. I love ketchup, and I love fresh tomatoes, but anything else…not so much. I actually didn’t like spaghetti too much in the USA because of it’s commonality, but here, it’s a taste closer to home. I boiled the noodles in a large pot as normal, warmed up some tomato sauce in the other smaller pot, added a bit of garlic powder, and added a bit of pizza cheese and Parmesan cheese on top. Heaven.

Yummmmm

So why am I posting my meals to show you all? Simple. To prove you can find, and cook it, with things you can find in rural areas of Korea. Also, to show you things that I end up finding that are yummy (Soon to come). These posts are for all those new teachers, stuck in the boonies of Korea, who have few food choices and no idea how to read the menus at restaurants. This is for all those newbies who are like me – scared to death of cooking – or are just out of the house for the first time and simply don’t know how.

Today, I had a specialty dish that I did not take a picture of for you, but here is the recipe. Warning: it is not a healthy dish, but it sure is yummy.

Ingredients: Spaghetti noodles, 1 pk of Korea’s idea of bacon (aka the small pack of 1/2 strips of bacon, compared to USA’s bacon packs), crushed/minced garlic, olive oil.  Needs 1 pot, 1 skillet, and whatever utensil you use to turn/flip stuff.

1. Boil some spaghetti noodles in a pot until they are nice and soft.

2. Open the entire pack, and using scissors or a knife, cut the bacon into 1.5″ strips.

3. Pour some olive oil (about 4 tablespoons) into the pan, add 2 tablespoons of minced garlic. Turn on the heat to no more than medium (lowish is best), and put the bacon into the pan slice by slice. (Meaning separate each piece before it goes in.)

4. Cook the bacon, stirring and turning the bacon until the bacon looks done but NOT crispy, OR until the garlic starts to burn.

5. Drain the noodles, put on plate first. Then pour the entire contents of the skillet (bacon, garlic, oil) onto the noodles. This should include all the oil.

6. Mix everything up so the noodles get covered by oil, and enjoy.

Responses

  1. Are there places to buy fresh meat ie chicken or steak? These are very easy to cook and good sources of protain.


Categories

